School Holidays

School Holidays

Holiday Closing Date Date re-opens
Easter 2021 Friday 26th March 2021 Tuesday 13th April 2021
May Day 2021 Friday 30th April 2021 Tuesday 4th May 2021
Summer Half Term 2021 Thursday 27th May 2021 Monday 7th June 2021
Summer Term 2021 Tuesday 20th July 2021 Thursday 2nd September 2021
Autumn Half Term 2021 Friday 22nd October 2021 Tuesday 2nd November 2021
Christmas 2021 Friday 17th December 2021 Wednesday 5th January 2022
Spring Half Term 2022 Friday 18 February 2202 Tuesday 1st March 2022
Easter 2022 Friday 8th April 2022 Monday 25th April 2022

Please visit the Durham County Council website to view or download the school holidays dates for this academic year and next year for all community schools, special schools and voluntary controlled schools. Please note that voluntary aided (church) schools, foundation schools and academies may have set different dates and you should check with the school or academy to confirm their arrangements or view the PDF for schools not following the standard term and holiday dates.

School Holidays During Term Time

The Government has amended regulations for taking holidays in term time and these new regulations come into effect from September 2013.

Head teachers have the discretion to grant leave, but they should only do so in exceptional circumstances. If a head teacher grants a leave request, it will be for them to determine the length of time that the child can be away from school. This leave is unlikely, however, to be granted for the purposes of a family holiday.

Parents can be fined for taking their child on holiday during term time without consent from the school.

Please contact the school if you wish to discuss this with the Head Teacher.

Article 24: Every child has the right to an education.