School Holidays

School Holidays

Holiday Closing Date Date re-opens
 Summer Term 2019 Friday 19th July 2019 Wednesday 4th September 2019
Autumn Half Term 2019 Thursday 24th Oct 2019 Monday 4th Nov 2019
Christmas 2019 Friday 20th Dec 2019 Monday 6th Jan 2020
Spring Half Term 2020 Friday 14th Feb 2020 Monday 24th Feb 2020
Easter 2020 Friday 3rd April 2020 Monday 20th April 2020
May Day 2020 Thursday 7th May 2020 Monday 11th May 2020
Summer Half Term 2020 Friday 22nd May 2020 Tuesday 2nd June 2020
 Summer Term 2020 Friday 17th July 2020 Wednesday 2nd September 2020

Please visit the Durham County Council website to view or download the school holidays dates for this academic year and next year for all community schools, special schools and voluntary controlled schools. Please note that voluntary aided (church) schools, foundation schools and academies may have set different dates and you should check with the school or academy to confirm their arrangements or view the PDF for schools not following the standard term and holiday dates.

School Holidays During Term Time

The Government has amended regulations for taking holidays in term time and these new regulations come into effect from September 2013.

Head teachers have the discretion to grant leave, but they should only do so in exceptional circumstances. If a head teacher grants a leave request, it will be for them to determine the length of time that the child can be away from school. This leave is unlikely, however, to be granted for the purposes of a family holiday.

Parents can be fined for taking their child on holiday during term time without consent from the school.

Please contact the school if you wish to discuss this with the Head Teacher.

Article 24: Every child has the right to an education.